Inside Valencia

One of the few good friends I’ve known here in Spain is now living in Castellón, a province of Valencia. Last week, the day after my Peñalara hike, I went to see her.

So there we were the whole Sunday strolling around Valencia. We did a lot of catching up while hopping from one place to the next.

The true proof I’ve been to Valencia is having a picture by this cultural and entertainment complex that is the Ciudad de las Artes y las Ciencias. It has museums, a center for the performing arts, an ocean park and the L’Umbracle, a public garden of contemporary design characterized by the parallel arches in the form of a walkway covering the palm trees and plants. Anna said there’s also a bar/club by the garden. I would have loved an opportunity to go there, must be really majestic.

 

 

The heat of the sun was taking it’s toll on us so we decided to break for merienda in one of the several horchaterias in town. Horchata is a refreshing drink typical to Valencia made from tiger nut. This is absolutely one of my favorite summer drinks, next to sangría of course. 😉

 

It was Corpus Christi that Sunday so we saw a Catholic procession. In addition, the gigantes also made an appearance. I had the assumption that they were mainly a thing of Pamplona.

 
By 19:30 we left Valencia by train going to Castellón which was an hour’s ride away. There, I’ll be staying the night at Anna’s place in Benicàssim, one of the municipalities of Castellón.

The following day was a day of pure leisure. There’s a bike lane that hugs the entire coast. We rode a bike to our breakfast destination with a view of the sea. Rode our bike afterwards all the way to the other side crossing the border of Benicàssim with Castellón and stopping by a bakeshop for some sweets refueling. It was a good morning workout. I super enjoyed the bike ride with the sea breeze blowing in my face. I was a happy camper. 😀

 

Benicàssim is a coastal town and there were few people as normally these are people who work in Madrid and just come there during the weekends. During summers, droves of tourists flock for the annual Festival Internacional de Benicàssim. This year’s line-up actually includes one of my favorite bands, The Killers. But no, I don’t have any plans of attending this music festival as I’m not familiar with the rest of the performing bands. Plus, I’d rather watch The Killers in concert as they would probably sing mostly only 5 songs in the festival.

After lunch we took a quick dip in the sea, just to test out the waters. We didn’t really plan to swim there as it’s more convenient to swim in their pool.

 

The biggest of the 3 photos above was taken in their balcony. I would love to have a house with this kind of view. When I woke up that morning, the smell of the sea breeze greeting me was enough to make my day.

I was so happy to have been able to visit Anna and got the chance to know her adoptive town. This is my kind of weekend. Out and about with an outdoor activity and away from mobile gadgets. 😉

Leave a Reply

