Cata de vino

Monday I had to meet with my Spanish tutor in the afternoon. She asked me if I don’t have plans for that afternoon til evening maybe we could start our tutoring much later and afterwards join her for a cata de vino. I replied that that is a good idea without knowing exactly what a cata de vino is. I was just up for something.

 

I thought we would go wine-hopping sort of like ir de tapas or here in Pamplona ir de pintxos where you hop from one bar to the next for tapas/pintxos (fyi: for the rest of Spain it is called tapas but in País Vasco and Navarra it is called pintxos).

This is what pintxos are.

 

Before I deviate farther from the topic, a cata de vino is wine tasting. This now becomes my second with the first one having been in the wine region of Porto in Portugal. Wine is also produced here in Navarra and that’s what the cata is for – marketing the local wines. I’m beginning to wonder how many cata de vinos I would be attending in all of my stay in Europe. *grins*

 

The tables are laid out with four glasses for each person which would be filled later on with wine.

 

I leafed through the marketing materials provided. There are seven wines for the tasting. Wow. In Porto we only had one of each – white and red wine. For that seven glasses it’s good preparation that we had a quick pintxo of tortilla de patata  before going to this event.

 

Every wine poured to our glass, we shake it round the cup to release the aroma and then encouraged to smell it. True enough it smells different from when it was first poured.

 

 

Here having collected the two whites and two rosados (rose wine). The first one being served is always lighter in color and then moving on towards a darker shade with a bolder flavor.

 

 
This was the first time I’ve encountered vino rosado.

 

In tasting wine, we have to use three senses: sight, smell and taste. It was l♥ve at first sight for me for the vino rosado.

 
This wine is obtained by the method called sangrado de mostos and translated into English means bleeding of the mosto or the freshly pressed fruit juice of grapes. It is the pink juice removed from the mosto and is separated from the rest (of what is is to become red wine) to ferment and produce vino rosado.

 

 

I threw the remaining contents of the first glass which has the first white wine to make way for the first red wine. Here is the color blocking.

 

When the second red wine was served, next came the cheeses with denominación de origen Idiazabal and Roncal here in Navarra.

 

The first red wine compared to the second one is dry. I prefer the second red wine. Consulting the wine list that would be the Gran Feudo Edición Especial from Bodegas Chivite.

 
The last wine was dessert wine. I first came to know of dessert wine in 2010 at my big boss’ house. He has a collection of wine and had us try dessert wine from Canada. It was really good!!!

The dessert wine served to us smells really sweet. Something in the same notes of an overripe mango. The smell is a cue for what I’m about to taste and it’s sweetness must have been heightened all the more from having tasted red wine. With just one sip I couldn’t drink more.

 

Walking out of the Sala de Exposiciones, my tutor and I engaged in talk about rose wine. She said it’s what Navarra is known for but that it’s quite at a young stage. Outside Spain, only white and red wine is known. True. I told her this kind of wine is hard to make it in the Philippine market because first, the country doesn’t have a culture of drinking wine. Second, drinking wine is associated with affluence, something most Filipinos do not have.

Because of what I said the flow of conversation steered naturally towards marketing rose wine. Oh dear, if we were given a marketing project for this next semester that would be a tough challenge. I’ll opt for a cata de vino. Anytime! 😉

 

Leave a Reply

